by Nick Batterham

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $1.70 AUD  or more



Accomplished Melbourne composer and songwriter Nick Batterham is excited to reveal the second taste of his forthcoming solo album Lovebirds with the stunning new track ‘Turbulence’. The release follows from Nick’s recently lifted single ‘No Perfect Man’, switching out its predecessor’s hauntingly subdued sounds for a cacophony of rock elements, overlaid with the same melancholic sentiments Nick has come to be known for. The single comes with the announcement that Nick’s new album Lovebirds is ready to be released via Cheersquad Records & Tapes on Friday 23 April with album pre-orders now available via the label’s Bandcamp.

As an album opener, ‘Turbulence’ kicks off Lovebirds with a goodbye, typifying the album’s extravagance as a simple piano ballad breaks loose into a soaring cinematic epic. Scheduled to be released Thursday 11 March, ‘Turbulence’ highlights the sheer brilliance of Nick Batterham’s intricate songwriting. A continuous build of atmospheric strings, horns and guitars propel the song from a seemingly unassuming love song to a heart-wrenching orchestral production of great heights.

“An attempt to be gracious in defeat, a farewell blessing to a runaway lover. “May everywhere you fly from here be safe and smooth, high up above my turbulence...” The song has gained new meaning since we can’t fly anywhere anymore” - Nick Batterham

A stalwart of the Melbourne music scene for the past 25 years, Nick Batterham is a prolific artist who has lent his immense musicality to beloved local acts The Earthmen, Blindside, Cordrazine and most recently, The Bell Streets, as well as regular compositional collaborations with renowned visual artist RONE. Nick’s upcoming sixth studio album, Lovebirds bristles with spiky observations and raw emotion, delivered with the world-weariness of Elliott Smith or Nick Drake, while the production nods to Phil Spector at his most opulent. Promising a lavish feast of orchestral pop that explores love’s dizzying highs and soul crushing lows, Lovebirds is now available for pre-order with instant access to Nick’s first two singles ‘No Perfect Man’ and ‘Turbulence’.



Put miles between us
Take off to the sky
Too soon to have to say goodbye
This loving and leaving
My attachment style
Even wishful thinking has a shelf life

May everywhere you fly from here be safe and smooth

High up above my turbulence
Where grey meets blue
I wish the best of luck to you

No lonely vanity
Needing to be seen
No dusty relic to remind you where you've been
Onward and upward
Forward to your dreams
This is how we face defeat now separately

May everywhere you fly from here be safe and smooth

High up above my turbulence
Where grey meets blue
I wish the best of luck to you

Fly away
Way over my head
Into the sunset


released March 11, 2021
Written and recorded by Nick Batterham
Nick Batterham: vocals, piano, guitar
Nick Murray: guitar
Jethro Woodward: bass
Ben Wiesner: drums
Zoë Black: violin
David Berlin: cello
Adam Simmons: saxophone
Tristan Rebien: trumpet, flugelhorn


all rights reserved



Cheersquad Records & Tapes Melbourne, Australia

Wally “Meanie” Kempton took the plunge in 2018 and launched his record label Cheersquad Records & Tapes. Since then he has released new material from acts such as The Meanies, Immigrant Union, Chris Wilson, Jasmin Kaset, Money For Rope, Nick Craft, Minibikes, The Rinehearts and Los Chicos, along with limited edition vinyl releases of older material from Snout, Sandpit and The Level Spirits. ... more

contact / help

Contact Cheersquad Records & Tapes

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this track or account

Cheersquad Records & Tapes recommends:

If you like Turbulence, you may also like: